top of page
  • Writer's pictureKatherine Muzzall

Perception

Static on the tv is so loud. The kitchen light is blinding. My hands are sticky and my shoes are on too tight. I hate the tag on this shirt. It feels like it is digging into my skin. Now my skin feels like it is crawling. Maybe a bath will make the feeling go away. My mom says it’s all in my head; that I'm trying to find any excuse to not go to school. I like school. Although, it’s hard to concentrate in class. Teacher will ask me a question but I slip on my words and begin studdering. The other kids start laughing at me. Lunchtime is even worse. Mom makes my lunch sometimes but she makes icky food. Peanut butter and jelly are squished together; touching. My carrots are wet and not sliced. She forgot to wash my favorite mug so she gave me a juice pouch instead. I don’t like juice pouches. I’m afraid they will pop and then I’ll get all sticky. I don’t like sticky. I panic when sticky touches me. Cafeteria food is OK. It’s all separated into each compartment. Nothing touches. I won’t eat the corn though. Reminds me of teeth. Teeth are hard and gritty. Can’t swallow teeth; it’s bad for the body. I got in trouble at recess today. One of the kids threw a dodgeball and it hit me. Dirt got on my shirt. I screamed and yelled. I dropped to the floor, covered my ears and screamed for a solid two minutes and thirty-two seconds. My mom has a meeting with the teacher. I’m sitting in a chair outside the classroom listening to them. This chair is nice. It’s hard and round. The meeting is over. Mom is coming. I look at her with wide eyes and ask, “Mommy, what does Autistic mean? And why did teacher say I have that?” Please visit for more information www.autismspeaks.org

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page