top of page
  • Twisted Shorts Series

Uninvited Guest

Eric was a businessman. He worked all day and all night. He never married or had children. He saw them as an interference in his climb to the top of the corporate ladder. He was selfish and only did deeds that benefitted himself. To Eric, he had it all; penthouse apartment, fancy cars, good looks, and most of all, money. It wasn’t enough for him to stop. Eric never wanted to stop; he wanted to conquer it all. Eric was in a meeting and felt a small twinge of pain in his stomach. He dismissed it as a muscle cramp from working out at the gym that morning. He had just finished a meeting when his assistant told him he had a visitor waiting for him in his office. Eric walked through the door and saw an old man looking out the window. He had an old pocket watch in his left hand and his right hand slipped in his vest. “Can I help you?” Eric sat down at his desk. The old man turned around and his face was expressionless. “Hello Eric. You may not know me but I know all about you.” The old man looked at his watch and proceeded to sit down across from Eric. Eric leaned back in his chair and asked, “How do you know me, old timer? I don’t associate with the homeless.” The old man sat up straight and answered, “Let’s just say I’m an old friend of the family. I’ve been around for quite some time. Now, I’m here to pay you a permanent visit.” The old man smirked. Eric was confused. “I’ve never heard my family talk about a dirty old man. You must be mistaken. Allow me to show you the door.” Eric was about to stand up when he felt a pain shoot through his stomach. He plopped back down onto his chair. The old man leaned over the desk and replied, “I see my visit has made itself known.” The old man waved his hand and Eric felt another sharp pain in his side. He winced. “What do you want from me?

What have I done to you?” Eric was getting desperate. The old man stood up and replied, “Your family has mentioned me many times but you refused to listen to voice of reason let alone be there to support your family when I paid a visit. One by one, I took them. You grandfather, your father, your uncle and your only brother. You were nowhere to be found. You were to busy with meaningless things like money and material items.” The old man waved his hand in the air again. Eric slumped over in pain. “What are you doing to me? What is this?” Eric was in a great deal of pain right now. The old man sat back down and looked at Eric. “I came to make you a deal. I AM going to take you with me, one way or another. My question to you is this: Would you like me to take you right now? It will be quick and painless but your family will remember the selfish coward you were. Or would you like me to drag it out? It will be painful but you can have the opportunity to make amends with your loved ones? Either way, you are too far gone to escape me. I will take you with me. So, which is it? A coward’s exit or a redeeming end?” Eric

couldn’t believe his ears. He regained some strength and managed to choke out, “I don’t understand this. Who are you?” The old man leaned back in his chair with a dark grin on his face and answered, “You might want to give me and answer soon. I’m not one to wait for anything. I will tell you, however, my name is… Cancer.”

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page