top of page
  • Twisted Shorts Series

The Visitor

Ruth laid in her bed, listening to the beeping sounds of monitors and machines. She looked over and would watch her heart rate slow down by the hour. Her body was worn out

and she grew tired by the minute. She could hear the rain outside her window, tapping on the pane. She wanted to pass in her home but the doctors said she wouldn’t survive the drive. Ruth had come to terms that she would spend her final hours in a hospital. She looked up at the soft yellow light that illuminated a small portion of her room. There was a lamp by the window that stayed on as well. The fluorescent lights were too harsh on her tired eyes. Ruth could hear the intercom on the hospital floor paging doctors and nurses. She could smell hand sanitizer and it was beginning to annoy her. She wanted to go home where the light was gentle and it smelled like lavender. Ruth was reminiscing about home when she heard a small knock on the door. She looked to the half open door and saw a young boy. He couldn’t have been more than thirteen years old. He had brown hair and dark green eyes. He smiled and he entered Ruth’s room. He walked calmly and quietly to the side of Ruth’s bed. He looked her over and shook his head in disapproval. “Tsk. Tsk. What a pity to see you this way, Ruth.” Ruth’s eyes grew wide wondering how this child knew her name. “I thought you would have taken better care of yourself. You used to be so beautiful and full of life. What happened?” Ruth parted her lips and whispered, “Who are you?” The little boy hopped back, throwing his arms out and snickered, “My name is Michael and I would like to help you. I came here to make you a deal.” Ruth swallowed and replied dryly, “What kind of deal? I don’t have any money to give you. You’re just a child. What could you do the help me?” Michael clapped his hands together and answered, “ I am not here for money, my dear, but perhaps we can work something out. Care to hear more?” Ruth nodded. Michael plopped down in the chair next to Ruth. He looked at the monitor and tapped the screen. “What would you say if I could take away all the pain, the tiredness, and despair? What if I made that all disappear and you were restored to your former glorious self? Would you be

interested?” Ruth paused for a minute and nodded. “What do I have to do?” Michael smiled and leaned in. “You have to give yourself to me. I can take you out of this depressing hospital and we can go somewhere… better.” Ruth’s eyes lit up. “Could you really make me better? I could see my family again!” Michael’s face changed expressions. He looked serious. “In order for me to take all that away and restore you, there’s one little detail you should understand.” Michael leaned in close to Ruth and said, “Where you’re going, you can never see or speak to your family again. This place is not for them.” Ruth couldn’t believe what she was hearing. “If I go with you, will my family be OK? How will I know they will be fine?” Michael grabbed Ruth’s hand and answered, “I can promise you your family will miss you very much. If you come with me, I can get you out of here. You will no longer be sick.” Ruth felt her body become tingly. The sounds of the monitors and beeping machines began to fade. ‘This was it,’ Ruth thought. ‘I’m finished. I’m going to die soon.’ Michael smiled and said, “Yes indeed.” Michael pointed past Ruth. She looked behind him only to realize that she was standing by her bed. When her eyes focused, horror took her by surprise. Ruth was staring at her own body. She gasped and turned to Michael. “What happened? Who are you?”Michael took Ruth’s hand and said, “I go by many names. In some cultures, I go by ‘Michael’, ‘Abaddon’, ‘the angel of dark and light’, and ‘angel of the abyss’.” Ruth was confused. Michael smiled and he waltzed to the door before saying, “I have many names, Ruth. However, the one name I am most known for is the one you have been waiting to greet for quite some time now. My actual name is Death.”

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page